Posted on

Democrats for Mitt

Kos has decided to start his own little revolution. He wants all the Democrats, Obama supporters I imagine, to come out in full force for born on third base, with a silver spoon in his mouth, Mitt Romney. His rational,

Kos: Meanwhile, poor Mitt Romney, who’s suffered back-to-back losses in the last week, desperately needs to win Michigan in order to keep his campaign afloat. Bottom line, if Romney loses Michigan, he’s out. If he wins, he stays in.

Why will this political coup fail miserable? Well kos found the answer in his follow up post.

Romney’s people said “I want republican votes”.
Huck said “I want democrats to vote for me”.
True story, just now, Situation Room.

Chances are that there will be cross over Democrats in Michigan, yet unlike the kos fantasy they well come out strong for Huckabee.

Many Democrats and liberals don’t get, and certainly underestimate Huck the Hick. They only see a socially conservative hick from the backwoods of Arkansas. What they don’t see is the rhetoric of economic populism, and the union and NEA endorsements. This is what scares the shit out of his Republican counterparts, even more so than an Obama.

The Democratic Party has long forsaken the class war for a cultural one. Huckabee even more so than Edwards has put class and economic populism back on America’s dinner table. As Democrats continue to move further to the right economically, a Huckabee will become more populist and consequently more attractive to the working class.

2 responses to “Democrats for Mitt

  1. Um, except for the fact that all of his economic proposals are shit for the working class. I’ve heard this compassionate conservative schtick before somewhere.

  2. Yes, that is why I referred to it as rhetorical populism. My larger point was that getting all the Dems into the Rep primary might backfire. Many might vote for Huckabee in the end.

    I personally see Mitt more dangerous on all levels than a Huckabee. I would much rather have a zealot than someone going out of his way to prove himself one.

    I find Huckabee useful in keeping class front and center in American politics. The whole political discourse is so politically corporate, his one liners are refreshing. I must admit, I also get pleasure in watching the Republicans squirm.

Comments are closed.