Posted on

Thanks McCain

There has been some of us on the outside looking in wondering how we could get the Commission on Presidential Debates to come tumbling down. What McCain showed us was a  all powerful, un-democratic, secretive, corporation is only as powerful as the duopoly that is its accomplice.

It sounds to me Obama was simply outfoxed by McCain. Obama wanted some joint venture to score some political points out of the current economic crisis and McCain upped the ante on him. I fully support McCain’s position on the debates although for very different reasons. As far as I’m concerned its time corporate America pays the piper.

Where I do think this game McCain is playing has some benefit is the Corporation on Presidential Debates outright ban on third parties. There is no reason candidates who have gotten on enough states to win the electoral college should be banned from the debates.  What McCain ought to do is take a clear principled stance that all candidates be included in the debates.  Its important to not only hear from Tweedledee and Tweedledum, but also Nader, McKinney, Baldwin, and Barr.

It seems to me this is definitely an envelope to push with the VP debate. The Constitution Party is the national equivalent of the Alaskan Independence Party that seems to scare the hell out of liberals. As Palin stated in that video to the Alaskan Independence Party,  competition is important for political parties too.

I call on the McCain / Palin team to make third party participation a stipulation for any and all 2008 presidential debates. Now that would be some change and reform I could support.

One response to “Thanks McCain

  1. ClapSo

    Very well said! I’ve added your blog to my blogroll. We Nader’s Raiders need stick together!

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

Comments are closed.